The Springboks, South Africa’s national rugby team, made history by winning the Rugby World Cup final against New Zealand. This victory marked their fourth time securing the prestigious Webb Ellis trophy. However, the following day at the World Rugby awards, the All Blacks from New Zealand outshone the newly crowned champions.

Despite their monumental win, no Springboks players managed to secure individual accolades at the awards ceremony. Eben Etzebeth of South Africa was nominated for Player of the Year but lost to New Zealand’s Ardie Savea. Similarly, Mannie Libbok, who was up for Breakthrough Player of the Year, was bested by Mark Tele’a from New Zealand.

Also read: President Ramaphosa praises Springboks for raising nation’s spirits

Notable Mentions and Awards

Jacques Nienaber, despite his efforts, did not win the Coach of the Year award, which went to Ireland’s Andy Farrell. However, there were some notable mentions for South Africa. John Smit, the Bok Rugby World Cup 2007 captain, received the International Rugby Players Special Merit award. Additionally, former South African winger Bryan Habana was inducted into the World Rugby Hall of Fame.

Also read: President Ramaphosa’s wishes the Springboks well ahead of final

Full List of World Rugby Awards Winners

Here is a comprehensive list of all the winners at the World Rugby awards:

  • World Rugby Men’s 15s Player of the Year in partnership with Mastercard – Ardie Savea (New Zealand)
  • World Rugby Coach of the Year – Andy Farrell (Ireland)
  • World Rugby Men’s 15s Breakthrough Player of the Year in partnership with Tudor – Mark Tele’a (New Zealand)
  • World Rugby Men’s Sevens Player of the Year in partnership with HSBC – Rodrigo Isgro (Argentina)
  • World Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year in partnership with HSBC – Tyla Nathan-Wong (New Zealand)
  • World Rugby Referee Award – David McHugh (Ireland)
  • Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service – George Nijaradze (Georgia)
  • Rugby for All Award – SOS Kit Aid
  • International Rugby Players Special Merit Award – John Smit (South Africa)
  • International Rugby Players Men’s Try of the Year – Duhan van der Merwe (Scotland)
  • World Rugby Hall of Fame inductees – Daniel Carter (New Zealand), Thierry Dusautoir (France), George Smith (Australia), Juan Martín Hernández (Argentina), Bryan Habana (South Africa).

By Shamiso Miracle

Shamiso Miracle completed her degree in journalism and media studies at the University of Zimbabwe before honing her skills at Savanna News. She then went on to work at iHarare News, becoming a voice for everyday SA citizens who wanted to share their stories. When she's not writing news that entertains and inspires ,Shamiso is an avid reader and a wellness bunny.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *